Learning from the professionals @ Phoenix Cooks!

On Tuesday I was ecstatic to find out that my best friend’s mom had got us tickets to Phoenix Cooks on Saturday, Sept. 4! From what I’ve heard and read this event is a foodies dream but not in a poor college student’s budget (even though it’s for charity $75  a ticket is steep for me). Fifty local restaurants and hotels show up to display their goods along with local chefs, cooking demonstrations, cooking classes,and tons of samples! First of all, it’s at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge which is a beautiful, relatively new resort that I have never been to! Secondly, it’s five hours of glorious food heaven from 10 am.-3 p.m and I don’t mind waking up early for that. Beyond the delectable food and wine I am going to experience I thought : Why not take a cooking class? It’s only $8 if you register online, $10 the day of (both in my student budget) and a perfect way to start my cooking journey.  I read that they go fast and of course they only had a few classes left open. I also found out that you needed to buy your ticket at the same time as your cooking  class ticket! Ari had to call her mom but she worked her magic to get us tickets! We decided to take a class with Jan D’Atri , local journalist turned cooking show host, because she was making our favorite: CHEESE STEAK! I can’t lie I’m a little nervous because I don’t know what I am getting myself into! Am I actually cooking? Is she just cooking and I’m watching? Did all those hours of watching Food Channel prepare me for the task at hand? I have no idea but I guess I’ll find out on Saturday and I thankfully will have my two best friends Ari and Kayla by my side! I can’t wait! 🙂

September 1, 2010. Tags: , , , . Foodie Events.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

